Pun Pun

I've arrived back to the farm after two years gone by. Yao and Peggy, P Jo and Nate, and many more warm and familiar faces were there to greet me. This place is called Pun Pun. It means thousand varieties in Thai, named after the many varieties of seeds grown and saved here. This place is really like some kind of paradise. It is beautiful and full of warm intent, but what I love most is the people who mix here. From around Thailand and around the world people find there way here to Pun Pun to learn and share information about livng life sustainabily and in alternative to, what to me seems like a tyranny of the new world order.

There is a quote I always have rememember by the celebrated conservation writer Edward Abbey, "sentiment without action is the ruin of the soul". I remember it because I find it profoundly true. Sentiment in our days abounds for to do the right thing, to live more mindfully, to imagine a better way. Sentiment is easy but action is another thing. What I love about Pun Pun is that here they really do practice what they preach. Creativity, mindufullness, and community abound in fresh grown food, home built earthen buildings, and shared responsibility. Self reliance, freedom, joy.

Living by our values and living by example I think is the best that any of us can really do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.