The Dugs Paws

By Cora

My New Journey,

It all started on the 6th November when I went to have my routine screening appointment.

About 10 days later i received a letter to say that I had an appointment at the Breast Screening Unit in Edinburgh.
At first I thought that it was a bad mammograph. That train of thought was dashed on the 21st of November when I saw the x-ray.
I had a scan and a biopsy was carried out, then on the 27th November it was confirmed that I had breast cancer, for some reason it didn't come as a big shock, as the Doctors at the previous appointment had managed my expectations, they told me that it wasn't going to kill me, but it was going to be an inconvenience, and that, with being blessed with big breasts, I was not going to miss the bit that was going to be taken away.
Many thanks to the Doctors and the Breast Care Nurses at the Breast Screening unit and the Western General Hospital for their very frank and honest words, and I think that's what has carried me through these last few weeks.


Moving on I had the tumor removed just before Christmas along with some of my lymph glands, I managed to get an infection, but that has now cleared up, and I am feeling fine, and went back to work today.

Whats ahead....a course of radiotherapy, but that's about 3 weeks away...I will keep you posted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.