incidental music

By incidentalmusic

this is a journey into sound...

I love radio, and the only disappointment with Digital Radio is the relatively small and fixed number of stations available. The latest bit of radio gadgetry puts an end to that in a major way. I took delivery of my internet radio today. It was a cinch to set up with my wireless network and within a couple of minutes (once I'd found the 'on' switch) I could listen to any radio station in the world which broadcasts over the net. This BT model isn't perfect - the tuning wheel is annoyingly fiddly, and there's the inevitable 'buffering' of radio streams resulting in occasional patches of silence, but it brings back the adventure of the cheap old am/fm radio I had as a kid - stumbling across far flung stations in languages I couldn't even identify, let alone understand. I spent some part of my time today in France, Germany, Japan, Sweden, India, Brazil and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.