Gypsy allotment - miserable, windy, grey, drizzly

Better in large. Inspired by freespiral 's polytunnel yesterday I will try to remember to blip the progress of my allotment on the 5th of each month. My neighbours have made beautifully manicured plots but I withstand all comments on my recycled additions. Taking this picture I'm standing on a new, wheelchair-friendly track that has been made for all the community to wander at will around all the allotments. A good idea in theory but it will enable more thieving to go on I think. Yesterday I took cuttings of lots of withies from the Muscovy pen at my brother's house and will be making a woven fence out of them to stop people from helping themselves to my produce so easily. To the bottom right is a cold frame (made from old windows and covered with plastic to keep warm) then the rhubarb, just coming up. Center from bottom up are crinkly greens which despite the frosts still have whitefly!, rasberries, onion setts, soft fruit, asparagus bed and beyond globe artichokes. Bottom left are all my compost bins, posts and stuff, which have had to be removed from the hedge whilst the new path was made, leeks which seem to have given up growing, pigeon proof netted hoop with greens, parsnips that are still frozen in, strawberries and daffodil patch. Hey ho - now all I need is better weather so I can get on the ground to tidy up, eat what is edible and start filling the cold frame with seedlings that are growing in the boat. (no letter that I can find today)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.