As Told By Ginger

By 9to12

Science Olympiads 2011 And Beauty And The Beast

I stayed up until 12:15 last night studying and blipping.

I got up at 6:15 and went to the Science Olympiad Regional Tournament at Kellenberg. There were 66 teams competing. Most schools have multiple teams (Wantagh had 3). Each school gets a classroom as a kind of home base. We stocked ours with plenty of candy, drinks, and bagels for everyone. I ended up doing two events; Microbe Mission with Belinda, and Fossils with Kaitlin. I hung out in the room until 9:45. I was studying Kimmy's sheet for Microbe Mission because me and Belinda didn't have time to make our own considering the fact that we were notified of our participation in this event yesterday... For this event, you are allowed one 8.5 x 11 in. piece of paper with notes. The smallest printable font is 5.5 and that's what this sheet is. Luckily, we're allowed a binder full of information for Fossils. Me and Belinda did okay. We were lucky because I'm in honors bio and she's in AP bio. We could've rocked that test if we had studied.

Fossils was a different story.... We didn't know that we were allowed to have a field book of fossils. The test was composed of about 25 stations. You were given two minutes at each to answer the questions. Most involved being given a fossil and naming it. Needless to say, me and Kaitlin rocked that (NOT!). We guessed on 3/4 of it. We put things like shell-us and narwhal-us as answers for the genus of fossils (hyphens and all). Surprisingly, we got 34th place out of 68 teams. That isn't too bad...

In between my events, I roamed the halls with Kate, Audrey, and sometimes Kaitlin. We ran around wishing everyone good luck and we got good luck stickers and Smarties from Herricks. Kaitlin, Avery, and Alyssa got 5th PLACE FOR MISSION POSSIBLE!!! THAT'S AMAZING!!! They beat our team A. Unfortunately, team A came in 9th and only the top 7 go to states :( I know Kimmy and Nicole are really sad about that. But on the bright side, team C came in 19th! That's better than team B! Yay!

I rushed straight from the competition to the play. I came in right after Belle. We did well in the afternoon show and we rocked the night show. I'm going to miss my time in the pit. :( At least I'll see most of these people in school. Afterwards, me and Chris went to James' house and chilled until 1:00.

I had a very busy day and a huge weight has just been lifted off of my shoulders.

Word of the Day: Abscond - To depart secretly

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.