Fisherking

By Fisherking

..........a picture of me....

Another emergency blip.

Just got back in from the quiz, with steam coming out of my ears. For the third week in a row we lost the quiz because of a set of uneven questions. The way the fixtures were arranged we played 4 home games and 7 away in the first half of the season, so in this half it's 4 away and 7 at home.The away team get to choose which set of questions they will answer, 3 weeks ago we picked and got the harder set, last week the opponents picked and got the easier set, this week the same. It's not the opponents fault, they can only answer what they get asked, it's the question setter. The questions are supposed to be balanced, but some people have a strange idea of balance.

I'm so pee'd off I can only give you one example af the unfairness. In this weeks first individual round I got lumbered with Nobel Prizes.

The opposition player was asked "Which prize was won in 2010 by the Chinese campaigner Liu Xiaobo?" This guy was all over the news a month or so back when he won the prize, so obviously the answer "Peace" came pretty quick.

I was asked "In 2010,which prize was awarded in Oslo to Robert.G.Edwards?"
Intakes of breath all around! I thought and guessed "Literature"....wrong. It got passed to my opponent who thought and guessed "Physics".....wrong. The quiz master then asked if any of the other 6 players and 4 reserve players knew..."Chemistry", "Art" "Maths", "Biology" Wrong, wrong, wrong and wrong!
The answer is "Medicine", for work that he did in 1978, on In vitro fertilisation. In Manchester, just 12 miles from here......it didn't even make the local news!!!

I could name a dozen or so Peace Prize winners, and so ,I bet, could you. but medicine, nope, not a one and unless you're a medic I bet you can't either.
So how is that a pair of balanced questions? Apparently the question had a clue....Oslo....the medicine prize is always awarded at a ceremony in Oslo. Bet none of you knew that either.

The Boss knew, but there again she worked in the same hospital in 1978 so she would.

So I blipped this caricature of me. It's another souvenir of the 2002 Commonwealth Games in Manchester. When the Games were over, the local authority Sports Development dept threw a party for all the volunteers from the town. It was a brilliant night and one of the events was a guy wandering round drawing caricatures. I must have one of those faces, because he sought me out from the crowd and, despite my protests insisted on drawing this. I must admit I think he did a pretty good job, at least the Boss, the Kids and our friends and family all say so.

More vodka calls to drown my rage, so for now Das vidanya.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.