fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Opal Apple

Big R brought home a new yummy variety of apples called Opal apples the other day. So one became my blip today before I devoured it. I love the crisp and sweet taste. I played around and turned it into a colored pencil drawing in processing. Here's a description I found of this apple:

The Opal apple variety has been exclusively introduced to U.S. markets by Yakima-based FirstFruits Marketing, LLC and Broetje Orchards.

The new variety, characterized by bright yellow color with hints of orange blush, has what is described as a crunchy texture and a sweet flavor with a brix of 15 to 18, according to a news release from the company. The variety is a cross between the golden delicious and the Topaz, has a medium round shape, stem end gusseting and resistance to oxidation after slicing, according to the release.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.