Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Where the wild things are

...don't worry I didn't get any!

It is the dry season here after all: anathema to a leech. I did see a mixed flock of forest warblers and honey creepers. There were some cheeky squirrels and even a forest rat scurrying up vines for berries. Mostly I enjoyed the quiet of the mountaintop on Doi Poi near Chiang Mai and the cool breeze of wind on my face speeding through sinnous green tunnels on the bike.

As it turns out forces kept conspiring to prevent me making the trip to Suppong. First I got sick, then I delayed on purpose, and then this morning I had a super useful skype chat with a film maker in the U.S. I have been soliciting for advice, but then by the time I left it was almost noon. Then with the flower festival in full swing I was in back to back traffic on the bike just trying to leave Chiang Mai. It is just not meant to be, and besides there is something in the air preventing me. I can feel it inside of me. And so I finally took heed and read the signs.

Making the most of the day I sped away to Doi Suthep and Doi Pui National Park closer to Chiang Mai for a day trip away from the crowded city. Food for the soul.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.