Life Well Lived

By RodenSarah

LISSIE WAS AWESOME!!!! - but this isn't Lissie

This is a picture of Dylan LeBlanc. He is incredibly talented, shy and soft spoken. He sang a lot of laid-back singer/songwriter songs that did not fully engage the crowd at Antone's, which is a shame. He has pipes!!! This kid is 19 years old. My bet is that he is going places. He has been opening for Lissie for most of her tour. Sadly, most of the brats/jerks in the audience didn't give him a chance because they hadn't heard of him before.

After standing around for 2.5 hours amongst a herd of people and enduring the following:

- people who elbowed their way past us to get closer even though we had gotten their earlier to be close, and then just talked instead of listening to the first act
- farted on the by guy in front of me no less than 5 times (I know, crass of me to even mention, but it was traumatic)
- having a drunk/stoned guy keep hitting me with his arm and when I asked him to stop, he got in my face and said "am I up in your business???", his girlfriend had to pull him back and keep propping him up because he kept leaning way forward and way back

I began to think, maybe I am too old and cranky for live music herd-style without personal boundaries and chairs. But when Lissie came on stage and the bass pounded through my body, it was sooooooo worth the wait and the obnoxious people. Everyone shut up and we all enjoyed the magnificence that is Lissie. We were 15 feet from her and that wouldn't have been possible in a place with chairs. It was totally worth it!!

She put on such a good live show. Austin was the last stop of her tour. It was clear that she was tired about halfway through her set, but she pushed through it and was incredible. She even had to stop at one point to super glue her real nail back on because she just can't learn to play guitar with a pick. She's tough and talented. If you haven't checked her out. You SHOULD.

Thank you, my wonderful husband for the great night out and to my parents and Dianne Foletto for tag team babysitting my children!! I had so much fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.