Penguin Cafe

The trouble with not uploading a blip on the day you take it is that you lose the impetus to write very much about it, which is fine if the day was a bit boring but not if something good actually happened! Like today.

I had a last minute invitation to see a friend play at the local concert hall. She plays for Penguin Cafe (previously known as the Penguin Cafe Orchestra in the 80s and recently reformed). Rebecca plays the cello, and I was very impressed - she looked and sounded very professional! Penguin Cafe are a 10 piece outfit and were very good. They were supported by Portico Quartet, who I had seen before, who were also very good, so it was an all round good evening. And I got to go backstage afterwards to catch up with Rebecca, who I haven't seen for about a year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.