Yorkshire Life

By arroset

My Box

A cloudy, dreary, rainy day again so an inside blip. Inspiration came from a spanish life so this is my heirloom.

This writing box was given to my great grandmother Una Rose Jackson on her 16th birthday in 1865. It is not so grand as the bog oak box and sadly does not contain any letters. Instead there is a glass ink well, a pen and spare nibs and pieces of sealing wax!

It is a little battered, but as I know Una first travelled to South Africa where she married my grandfather, then emigrated with her son to New York before returning to the UK I like to think it traveled with her.

Back in England she divorced my grandfather in 1889, no mean feat for a woman at that time. By all accounts she was a formidable woman!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.