Through my lens, Willis

By Willis

Evil Black Berry

When my Black Berry signals it means work. Some weeks it's relentless. So this is how my nightmare might look.

Enlarge

I have been working almost 70 hours a week so I haven't been around. I've been planning this one in my head for days and tonight was my first opportunity to make it.


Caution Tech Stuff:

This composite is made from five separate images. Starting with the phone is a wall paper image of some scary eyes which were loaded into my Black Berry, BB for short. In the dark I shot just the lit front of the BB for like 10 seconds. Then I shot the BB's case, lighting it with a flash light. Then I shot myself against a white background with odd light and camera placements. Finally I shot a piece of glass down low with a long nose butane lighter for 10 seconds.

First we started with our background plate of the glass and the fire. Then we marry the outer part of the BB phone with it's lit keyboard. I softly cut it out because I wanted it to look menacing. It didn't work the way I wanted so I added a red glow to it. After making a mask around myself I then added and sized my layer so I was much smaller than my opponent.

Next I copied the phone to a new layer, flipped it upside down and crushed it vertically to make a reflection in the glass. I also did the same thing to a copy of myself. I added a little soft glow to my edges, after all we're dreaming here.

Final touches were changing the background image color, painting out some background clutter like a wall outlet and then pulling a square crop of the whole thing.

Fun composite and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did bringing it to you...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.