Chiara

By Chiara

Homeward bound

This is me. I have a weird confused look on my face. I was probably still in shock from the freezing cold.

The city slicker in me wanted to do something we couldn't do at home (Chicago), so we made reservations at the local horse riding center for this morning. Needless to say, Nate & I woke up to semi heavy snowfall. However, it wasn't that cold outside, so we decided to just go ahead and take advantage of the opportunity to ride horses before we left today.

Well, despite how much fun I had (the scenery was beautiful and my horse was awesome), it was still pretty much a bad idea. By the end of the 45-minute trail ride, my jeans were soaked from all the snow, my legs and face were numb, and I was shivering like crazy. Worst of all, Nate was soaked, freezing and in a lot of pain. About 10 minutes into the ride, Nate's horse didn't want to cross a half frozen creek, so he freaked out and Nate was thrown off of its back. He landed on his right side and now he's really sore. He thinks that he fractured his pelvic bone. He can't walk really well and if it's worse tomorrow, he's going to visit the ER. I hope he won't have to do that! I feel awful because I was the one who wanted to go horseback riding in the snow and I dragged him there. I'm so worried about him. I hope he'll be OK!

As soon as we got into the car after demounting the horses, Nate said, "That's the stupidest thing I've ever done." Can't blame the guy. I've done stupider things before, so I can't say the same.

The drive back home was a pain. On some days, snow is the bane of my existence. After I graduate college, I will move to someplace warm. Well, that's what I tell myself every winter, but once summer rolls around and all the festivals & beaches open, I change my mind.

Well, so we're back in Chicago. I had a great time in Galena. I'll definitely be back when it's (a lot) warmer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.