Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Classic football rattle

I had a survey in an empty semi/derelict house which still had lots of stuff piled up around the place including this football rattle. (I assume it is a football rattle rather than a WW2 air raid wardens rattle, to use in the event of a gas attack).

I remember watching an episode of Blue Peter with John Noakes making a football rattle out of 2X1 timber, a broom handle and bits of plywood.

I made one when I was 11, I have made more over the years, memorably when my boys were younger. With a sounding post they are DEAFENING, a lot louder than any vuvuzela I have heard.

This specimen has a lovely turned handle, a sounding post and a sounding board.

I have seen little toy ones but not a proper one. I didn't give it a full bloodied go but it seemed to be pretty reasonable. My home made ones don't look as good but I think are louder. My Mark II design will have a sounding board!

The photo is of one rattle, photographed on both sides. The background is a plastic box lid and a bag of rubbish. The light is a single bare overhead bulb. The rest is Photoshop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.