running commentary

By Stesedthat

Close, but no cigar

We all like to take great photographs and will likely forever strive to take the "perfect shot". This isnt a shot I am particularly pleased with. It was taken in a real hurry as I was rushing home with Scamp and was late for meeting someone.

What I am pleased with though is the fact that I noticed the opportunity for a good photo as I glanced across the river. The way light was falling on the far buildings and the man walking along with his dog, silhouetted with the trees.

The end result isnt exactly something to be hung on a wall, but imagine if the ugly concrete building was an iconic NYC skyscraper and the spired roof was a famous church, and the mans dog was in shot and there was a small child on a tricycle nearby?

Photography has certainly taught me to look at the world around me with a fresh eye and a bit more imagination, and I think that is just as important as having a good camera and all the latest equipment

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.