TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~ANother Baeutifull Suncet~

~A Dyslexic Dilemma~

"Hi, I'm Jim and I have dyslexia."
This is a statement of fact and also one of defense.

I have blogged about this previously on the Blip, but since I have returned to posting, albeit inconsistently, I sure would like to chat about it again if you don't mind. The problem being, a lot of my fellow Blippers have made some very generous comments regarding some of my images and my writings. I do wish I could respond to each and every single one, but I cannot. Also, I see some very beautiful and outstanding photographs on these pages. I also wish I could comment on each one that deserves notice, but I cannot. The reason for my lack of replies or feedback is that it is extremely difficult for me to read and write, which unfortunately includes typing. The symptoms of dyslexia differ among individuals, so I can only talk about how it effects me. When I read I have to look at each word and sound it out. Even words like "it" and "a" I have to look at individually, not as part of a collectively phrase or thought. That really slows down the old reading and writing process. The same thing happens when I type, I have to think out each letter of each and every word. That also makes for very slow typing. Then there is spelling, ah spelling, damn you! I spell phonetically, meaning I spell by sounding out words, even words that I use regularly. Unfortunately the English language is not primarily concerned with spelling a word the way it sounds. Now, all that being said, I do get by. My intellect does not seem to suffer from this learning disability (though some have disagreed with this statement). I love to write and express myself, some say "ad nauseam". But to write this commentary tonight I will have invested well over two hours. I must also admit that I suffer from an incurable devotion to perfectionism.

I just want to make it clear that my not acknowledging a wonderful and unselfish comment, or complimenting you on a brilliantly executed photograph, is not a sign of neglect nor disregard. It is a symptom of my inability to communicate at a nonverbal manner. I truly admire and envy all of you who do possess this mastery of the written word. Please keep leaving your comments, they make my day. And keep posting your wonderful images, as this is how I learn my craft.

Thanks for looking and reading!
So, let me put this into a final perspective.
I'm an artist and I love writing.
I have dyslexia and I'm a perfectionist.
My God, when will this madness end?
Love ya' all.
TucsonJim ;o)

"Dyslexia is a broad term defining a learning disability that impairs a person's fluency or accuracy in being able to read, speak, and spell.There are three proposed cognitive subtypes of dyslexia: auditory, visual and attentional. Although dyslexia is not an intellectual disability, it is considered both a learning disability, and a reading disability. Dyslexia and IQ are not interrelated, since reading and cognition do develop independently in individuals who have dyslexia. Accomplished adult dyslexics may be able to read with good comprehension, but they tend to read more slowly than non-dyslexics, and may perform more poorly at nonsense word reading, and spelling."
*Cited from Wikipedia

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.