Chiara

By Chiara

Gibberish

At the warehouse (where Nate and his friend run their glass art business), you can see graffiti all over the walls. It's as if they had a graffiti party one day and people from all walks of life came with markers and bottles and bottles of spray paint. By the bathroom are some neon drawings of some abstract art and incoherent words written in graffiti-like letters. At the opposite side of the warehouse, the walls are peppered with what some people may consider philosophical quotes, such as this one.

This reads:

Everything you console yourself with is a lie. When you get down to the bottom of it, broken-hearted in your distress, maybe you will discover what 'in love' is. It is not about what you must do. It is about transcending yourself, about not fulfilling yourself. [sic] and it is not amusing. It is passionate and it is terrible. - Adi Da Samraj

Maybe it's because I don't have the patience to absorb ambiguous statements and apply them to everything in life or maybe it's because I'm too myopic to understand & fully appreciate Adi Da Samraj's greatness, but it's nothing but gibberish to me.

I get it that you shouldn't be selfish and worry about fulfilling yourself whilst transcending yourself and that in order to do so, you shouldn't conform to society but instead cater to your psyche's needs, to think about your ID rather than your ego, and not to rely on outside resources in order to fulfill yourself, but why write that in flowery language with vague intentions? Sheesh, it took me ten minutes to pick this apart and reach a valid point in this quote. I'd rather spend an hour reading Siddhartha (great book, by the way) than spend another ten minutes analyzing this inane quote.

Like I said before, maybe I'm just a myopic bigot and Adi Da Samraj really knew what he was talking about. He seems like a cool guy, even though a bit narcissistic. After graduating from Columbia (my school), he started his own religion and named it after himself: Adidam.

Here's an excerpt from Wikipedia on the religion:
"[Adi] states that the ego cannot itself undo the ego, which is why divinity in the form of the spiritual master appears in human life. He describes the ultimate condition (or prior condition) as love-bliss, self-radiant indivisible conscious light. More simply, he refers to it as the Bright. In this realization, all egoic tendency is "outshined", or made completely obsolete."

My brain stopped working after the second sentence. I'm always up for trying new things, but this makes no sense whatsoever and I'm not wasting any time trying to understand it. This is why I avoid poetry like the plague.

Also, is it really that easy to start your own religion, regardless of how ridiculous it is? Maybe I can fool a large group of people into thinking that the world is going to end, bring them to an island where they can be safe, and make them drink Kool-Aid. Or I can have 17 kids and fool taxpayers into paying for my house by claiming it as a church. Or I can shave my head and pretend to be an alien and rope thousands of people into worshipping Xenu ... oh this is getting too ridiculous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.