karenjulia

By karenjulia

Cool Uncle Dave

Well today I did as instructed by Civil Defence and the Police and stayed home. I was glad to do so and to have a day to collect my thoughts. Mum and a friend came over as they still have no power or water on her side of town. They were able to shower, eat lunch with us, cook some food and get some water.

Our niece Emma (7) called from the North Island as her mum was anxious to hear news. Emma said she was glad I was OK "because, Aunty Karen, I don't want you to die". She was also concerned about the fate of all the Christchurch ladybirds - her favourite insect. I said I expected that had flown somewhere safe and would come back soon.

Emma was also very intrigued when her father, Dave's brother had told her of Dave's activities in our back garden. She apparently ran to her mum and said "guess what cool Uncle Dave has done now? He has dug a hole in his garden to bury his POOS". I guess she must wonder what on earth we are up to!

Heartbreaking stories on the news. We are not allowed into the CBD and once we can go, we will not recognise it. Thanks for all your kind words and thoughts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.