Sugar Magnolia

By cew

Home

Well this was home. We moved into the big house here in the picture when I was 2 1/2 years old and my parents sold it when I was 21. I loved this house. The very top attic was my brother, Sonata Lover's bedroom. You had to climb a ladder to get up there. I was the youngest in my family and once Sonata Lover and everyone else moved out that room was mine. It had groovy purple and black wallpaper and I had candles and incense up there. Firetrap?? My dad installed a beeper down near the kitchen for my mom so she could beep when supper was ready as the music was always too loud to hear her. We had a pool in the backyard for most of my life too. I remember so many fun times in that yard with my parents. Especially my dad. Every summer I would get a ridiculously horrible sunburn and have to go to the hospital. This is evident now on my sun damaged skin:(
The little pink and white house (much prettier back in the day) belonged to the Fitchies. A really nice quiet little couple. They didn't do anything to deserve the loud bunch that we were!! But they really liked us. We were a nice family. Not perfect,,,but who is. That side of our house always had whatever assortment of tools my dad had been using recently. We could always tell if it was my dad's hammer or saw or screw driver because if it was rusty it was his!! He was much more careful with his paint brushes and calligraphy nibs!!!
Mrs. Zsofcsin still lives across the street. She may be the only neighbour still left there. My friend Michelle bought her parents home 2 doors down. I grew up with her and went to visit her today.
I always feel like I don't remember much about my youth but then I go back to East 24th Street and so much comes back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.