Back and forth

We drove into Manchester, this evening, to meet with my childhood chum, David, who's performing at Bridgewater Hall with the Hallé tomorrow evening. (And rehearsing all tomorrow, necessitating some restraint, tonight!).

The Minx was driving and so I was able to take this photo of a bridge that we crossed, which reminded me of the Forth Bridge and, therefore, Iain Banks' novel, 'The Bridge'. I'm currently re-reading his book 'Transition' and enjoying it even more than I did the first time.

I re-read all his science fiction books after he passed away but this is my first return to his 'non-M' novels. I feel like I want to read them all again but then I have shelves of unread books. What to do?

Having spent the evening with an old friend, though, I've come to the conclusion that it would be daft to exclude past loves purely in favour of the new. There should always be room for both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.