Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

The Olympics

Midway through the afternoon, I heard the regular drumbeat which got louder and louder. I realised that it was in our street so I went to the front door and saw the procession approaching. The primary school children have been making carnival fancy dress costumes to celebrate the forthcoming Olympic Games in France. They had gone to a lot of trouble with their outfits, all representing different countries. Someone was even trundling a papier maché Eiffel Tower with winners' podium below. 
It has been a warm day with temperatures 6°C above normal, really quite worrying. It did mean that it was very pleasant on the tennis courts for our Friday practice. In the afternoon, I wrote my evaluation of the safeguarding course I attended last night and also reviewed some furniture rental quotes for an apartment that the new chaplain will rent. At €500 per month, it would be cheaper to buy than to rent over a three-year period.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.