Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

In among the bells

We were able to ring all ten bells today as we had visitors. Unfortunately, the sound insulation trap which we open for public ringing got stuck. That meant I had to climb the ladder into the belfry, climb on a step ladder, then onto the bell frame, and then onto the top of a bell to reach up with a broom to pull it shut. It was all rather precarious, but I proceeded carefully. We then went out for lunch with our visitors and had a pleasant meal. I chose a mackerel purée starter followed by duck in orange sauce and then an île flottante. I walked the half an hour up to the next village for the meal, so at least I burnt off some of the calories! I called in at the tennis club on the way back to wish the president’s husband a happy 90th birthday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.