Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Market shopping

Last week I described my market shopping. This week I thought I would take a photograph of it. Once a week, Mrs TT goes to the supermarket while I walk around the market buying all the fruit and vegetables. I like to get there early so at 8.15 am I was buying the spinach and kale from a young lady who just puts her produce on a trestle table. I said I thought the vegetables look very fresh and she told me they had just been picked that very morning before coming to the market. I don’t know what time she must get up! I do like produce when it is very fresh. It rained in the morning so the tennis lesson was cancelled which was a good thing for me as my foot is still a little sore. I am leading a walk tomorrow so I hope it will stand up to it. It is an easy walk with little climbing or rough ground, but it is 13 kilometres so we will see. In the afternoon, I went to French conversation and had an interesting chat with someone who has more information on Madame White, the proprietor of the hotel Alexandra during the war. She took in Jewish children and airmen with the connivance of the commandant of the local Wehrmacht. A lot of his information coincides with the information I have but comes from different sources. We have agreed to exchange our different accounts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.