The Memory Keepers Sister

By nadblips

Went out last night with my Uni friends for the first time in a while. Was going to have a sober night. That didn't last long. I would say that I generally drink less often than the average 20 year old student, but when I do, I drink too much, usually because drink prices are so cheap on student nights. I don't particularly enjoy drinking, yet I still found myself waking up this morning and not remembering getting home. I didn't do anything embarrassing, but the fact that I walked home alone was really dangerous, especially in this city, and it worried me that I was so vulnerable. I have decided to give up alcohol, not for lent, but for good. (I'm giving up Facebook for lent!) I've got a lot of 21sts this year so not sure how long I will last. People always give me funny looks when I say I'm not drinking on a night out and it's almost an unheard of thing in my friend circle. One of my friends tried to give up alcohol for the whole of February and he lasted 8 days. He did however prove to himself that he could have a great night out without getting drunk.
"How come if alcohol kills brain cells, it never kills the ones that make me want to drink?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.