Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Two Days Later

Even though I posted this rose two days ago, this isn't a desperation blip. It was almost 5:00 when I arrived home this afternoon. I knew there was nothing in my camera.

There's not much to photograph as I've purged almost every file and definitely every pile in my office this week as I have been gradually moving my things to a new "make-shift-office." I took one of the final loads of "stuff" out of my office this afternoon. Today the maintenance people took the laptop computer docking station from my office and moved it to the new location.

So on the way out of the campus I drove to my new office just to see what was there. A box full of my computer stuff (monitor, keyboard) was a little alarming to see.

My office partner was there trying to make the best of this upheaval. He was sitting at the desk with his personal laptop on his knees. His school computer sitting on the top of the desk but not connecting to the internet. The most comforting moment of this whole disturbing move happened as I stood there in our make-shift office realizing that I am again sharing am office with Arend. It's been 6 years since we've shared an office. I've always enjoyed him. He's an intellectual, so I always need a dictionary to converse with him because his vocabulary is amazing and intimidating; in spite of that, we have a good time together and we trust each other. We've experienced a lot of life together.

Years ago Mr. Fun & I were invited to Arend & Jackie's wedding, where we enjoyed ourselves immensely. In the early 90s, Arend and I both watched the other experience the death of our fathers. Also, sometime in the early 90s, Arend purchased a home and about the same time we purchased the home that we live in now. One summer when we were vacationing on the Mississippi River, Arend & Jackie met us in LaCrosse, Wisconsin, where the mayor and all the city, it seemed, came to meet the steamboat paddle-wheeler we were traveling on; ours was the first paddle-wheeler to arrive that summer. The community treated the moment like a major event. The four of us still laugh about the grand reception we experienced that day. Arend & Jackie were on their way to Ohio to visit relatives. Arend grew-up in Ohio, so they go back every summer. He's a good friend. I need to focus on this aspect of this whole "moving my office" ordeal.

But nothing in my campus day presented a photographic opportunity. So when I arrived home, I strolled the backyard with Chloe and her friends and that beautiful rose bud from two days ago was no less stunning today. I sat down on the garden wall, waited for the breeze to calm, and captured a photo that I am pleased to share.

Lots of you made meaningful comments about the rose two days ago, so I don't expect anyone to comment today. Just enjoy its beauty. Hopefully life will slow some soon and I'll get back to regular commenting.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.