First signs of Spring

I don't know what this shrub is called but it is on my list for my garden (if ever I can design my own). Together with Forsythia it is these tiny little very light green leaves that make the beginning of spring so very nice.

I blipped it from different angles and managed to get a nice close-up but decided that this blip would show the beauty of the intricate little leave-'buds' much better.

Went to the Dean Gallery again to look at the August Sander exhibition together with a friend. This time I read the catalogue entries and explanations and was glad to discover names to some of the "composers" and "architects" etc. I'm still deeply moved by the mother with her two children as well as the fact that hands are referred to as "matter" as well as the deceased older lady. But he treats every person with the same dignity be they young, old, poor or rich. Very remarkable exhibition and I will return yet again.

Will I ever be able to take portraits like that? I would like to be able to take portraits without shying away from the subject so I should possibly try a series. And I could maybe start with what he terms "matter", the hands.

On my way back home along Princes Street I was shocked to find that what I think used to be M&S has now been demolished and there's this big gap. Is it Primark that is rebuilding there? I wonder what it will look like. Shame that all these old shopfronts are nearly all gone.

And they're already repairing the tramtracks on Princes Street. Why? There is no tram to travel on them so surely the money could be used elsewhere? Like in finishing the track laying to either side of Princes Street? I don't know...I hope we end up having a tram eventually, they are a good way to travel in Switzerland so could be here but only if the tracks actually went somewhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.