ThisIs_WillCarroll

By willcarroll

One last chorus

This weekend finished rather as it had begun: With Michael and Helen at Peter and Lottie's, with good food and good humour. Only today, Alison joined us and Toby (who was with us on Friday night) was elsewhere.

It was a well timed visit, as P&L may soon be moving out from their beautiful flat, into another nearby.

Alison will be moving away (much further away) soon, too.

It's a common saying that "All good things come to an end". But for me at the moment it seems more true to remark: "All things - good and bad - seem to move quickly by".

Two days back I was saluting the weekend in. A day earlier I was wondering where the week before had gone - as I have done every Thursday night for the past 5 or 6 weeks. I have a hope that things may go slower soon - gain more of a rhythm and less of a rush. The tune still plays - it sometimes surfaces amidst the bustle of life (I can think of several brief chorusses even today) - but it is quickly drowned out by the white noise.

So here's to a week of rhythm. Safe journey home, Mr and Mrs Ashdown.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.