With a little help from my friend

16 months 14 days

I'm pretty sure she's started the road to recovery. Looks like she'll take her time about it, but she does with everything. All in her own time and carefully, methodically done. We found out today that several of her friends have had it confirmed that it's the rotavirus, and the doctor said to not bother bringing her in unless she started showing serious symptoms of dehydration, which she hasnt. The village is pretty stricken!

She didnt vomit at all last night. And has only had one bout of it this morning. We've had just one horrid nappy. She's eaten some very small bits of food- toast, bit of banana, some breadsticks. She's nursed a lot too so is obviously settling down a little.

We went out to do a couple of jobs this morning, she fell asleep afterwards for a good long while. She then wanted to go out again, so we had a walk down the old railway line. We saw rabbits, ducks on the path, cats, dogs, birds, and she was almost happy to see them.

At home, she heard a song and danced a bit, gave me a smile and said 'ticktock' and did her ticktocks. I melted to see my little girl back. It was fleeting, she was tired and frustrated again very quickly, but she was there. Just for a few minutes.

She conked out at 5pm and I thought she'd catnap for a while then wake up, bath and bed. But she didn't. So at 6pm I put her, fully dressed, into bed (thankfully I'd changed her not long before!) and I'll just let her sleep, put her jammies on and feed her when she wakes up!

But yep, I've put her to bed pretty pleased. Things are moving in a positive direction.

On another positive note, my friend who is in ICU is beginning to make progress, she is off dialysis, and whilst she's still on a ventilator and very poorly, she's improving everyday and it might not be too long before she's awake.

Edit- Katie woke, did the most hideous nappy that required a strip and bath, and is now flat out again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.