Chiara

By Chiara

Snowed in

This is the aftermath of the aftermath of the great Chicago blizzard of 2011. A couple days ago, nearly two feet of snow fell upon us in a matter of hours. The last time we saw a blizzard this intense was 1999, and before that, 1967. My town took two days to plow the roads. Cars were slipping and sliding everywhere. Just when the blizzard began, I was rushing home when I saw a car slide across two lanes on Cass Ave. and crash into a median sign.

Quite frankly, I am not awed by this blizzard. We get heaps of snow every winter, and we?re used to it. This time, we just got a little bit more, just enough to shut down businesses, local schools, and even the streets of Chicago. The blizzard just put our lives on hold for a few days, but in fifty years people will still talk about it. I will be one of them. I'll be telling my grandchildren, "When I was your age, I spent hours shoveling my car out of the snow during the great blizzard of 2011, and we were trapped ? trapped inside for days! You young'uns don't know how easy you have it with your heated roads, sidewalks, yards, and driveways. Have you even heard of shovels, snow blowers, or plow trucks? ... No? Get off my lawn, kid!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.