Torness

I didn't take any photos when I was outdoors today; it was blowing a gale and altogether too damned cold. So I tried a few shots from the train on the way back up from Newcastle and the only one I half liked was this one of Torness nuclear power station, glowing gently in the evening light.

A while back I was on the train as it was passing Torness and overheard part of a conversation between two elderly South African tourists:

"It must be a hotel."

"It can't be, there aren't any windows."

"They will have put the windows on the other side, for the sea view."

"Oh, yes."

Looking at it again, I really think that the hotel idea is a non-starter.

(And in other news, I just remembered Richard C's account of dropping his specs into the base of the reactor housing when he was crawling across a girder during the construction, working in his college hols. I like to imagine that they're in there still, fizzing gently.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.