Day by Day with Otago Lad

By otagolad

The "Brook"

Well today dawned a bleak, miserable one. We had to venture into the ?Big Smoke? for a few things and hopefully a blip. The weather today actually provoked the trail of thought that led to me finding today?s image.
It?s of Carisbrook, the rugby and cricket ground in Dunedin that I have been to so often and have so many great memories of. Its future, like the weather is looking bleak at best I?m not sure that a final decision has been made but I think, after the new stadium is finished, that the wrecking ball might be the next gig played here.

It got me thinking.............

What other uses can you find for the old and well loved stadiums around the world? They, in their prime, were great old venues but now there time has well and truly passed and it?s only the ghosts of the past that remain. It?s such a shame that the youth of today will no longer have these hallowed seats to sit in and watch there hero?s and develop the great memories that our generation has.
Time moves on I guess and I hope the new stadium is well used and develops some of the character of the ?Brook?, it will take time, farewell to a good old friend of all Dunedin...........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.