Trial and Error

By DawnC

What have they done to my school?!

The dogs spent today at my parents' house and when I drove through my home town this morning, even though I knew it was going to happen, I still did a double take when I saw the state of my old school. It's being razed to make way for a £31,000,000 new build.

On my way back to collect the dogs after work I stopped off and took a couple of shots through the security fencing around the building site, as it now is. This is the old lower school (the modern part) canteen being demolished (the old, far more attractive, upper school lives on though not as part of the school any more).

How things change. A school was founded in Midhurst for poor boys in 1672 by a local businessman named Gilbert Hannam. Initially there was a school for just 12 pupils, the current roll is approximately 950 students with plans to increase the roll to a maximum of 1500. Alumni include the author H G Wells and Colin Gibson, who used to play football for Manchester United - and whose maths text book I subsequently ended up with!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.