Life with Gaia

By happyyoga

Oh little bee, who's lost you way
My heart cries out for you today.
How many ages have you served!
This is not what you deserved

I asked "Why do you remain?
Have the hives gone sour again?
The webbing on this chair's no hive
And I fear you'll not be long alive."

I am so sorry little bee
What mankind's folly did to thee.
How many ages you have served!
This is not what you deserved.

They have called your mother Queen
Which I think is very mean
For she was here long before men
Made systems and then strengthened them.

"My mother has passed and the hive is dead"
("All for more profit", I almost said.)
"Her mothers before her brought life to the trees"
"I know" I said, "we're lost without bees"


G Mayer 2008














Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.