Tribes

Here we have a T Shirt that I received after collecting coupons from my weekly copy of Sounds magazine in 1980. Younger blippers will have no idea what I'm on about as Sounds folded in 1991.

I was supposed to be slashing and burning through some old clothes but kept getting distracted, either by finding small toys in pockets left there when the kids were very tiny or by unearthing gems like this which brought back a load of memories. I wore this shirt until it nearly fell apart so I'm amazed it's still intact. I'm even more amazed it still fits me, although the odd seam did look to be under a bit of pressure.

Looking at the tribes represented I can see.....

Punk
Oi!
New Wave of British Heavy Metal (NWOBHM)
Reggae
Mod
Rockabilly
Hip Hop.

Heady days indeed.

On a musical note, today I have mostly been listening to Ron Sexsmith . I went to see him at King Tut's Wah Wah Hut in Glasgow fifteen years ago (Mrs Smith lost her favourite opal ring on the dance floor that night) and he's still playing venues that size now, I hope the new record sells a few more copies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.