Scouting around ...

By scout2002

Harbinger of Spring ...

Legend has it that the wood from the Dogwood was used for the cross on which Jesus was crucified and would never again be used for anything that had to be strong. Since then the trunk and branches of the Dogwood are gnarled and do not grow straight. The flowers are legend to represent the cross with the center representing the nails.

Dogwoods in the Carolinas represent Spring ... they are in various colours, pinks and white but I like the ones with the pale green on the petals.

Spring is my favourite time of the year. For me, it represents renewal and coming alive again after winter. I don't know if Dogwoods grow in the U.K., but just in case they don't, I thought I'd share their beauty with you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.