A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Anemone blanda

A badly named plant since it is anything but bland.

I planted these a couple of years ago and have seen not a sight of them until they suddenly popped up this year. Given how often this piece of ground has been dug over since I am surprised they survived. A common name for them is Grecian Windflower" and according to Culpeper:-

"they say the flowers never open but when the wind bloweth."

Since the wind bloweth pretty much all the time here I am not sure if this is true or not. Culpeper does not advocate sticking Anemone up your fundament which is nice to hear. However:-

"The leaves provoke the terms mightily, being boiled and the decoction drank"

I don't want my terms mightily provoked so will stay well clear I think. However if I wish to purgeth my head mightily I can stamp on the leaves and snuff the jiuce up my nose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.