Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Underneath the Arches

This is another spot I drive past nearly every day - at least whenever I go into the office.

This viaduct carries the Northern Line between Finchley Central and Mill Hill East. Both stations opened in 1867 so my guess is that this was built then, part of the massive second railway boom of the Victorian age.

I drive past this when I am in a hurry to get to work, or when rushing to an appointment or when I am hurrying home ready to do battle with the rush hour traffic.

I only paid attention to it because of Blip. So today I stopped the car, it was overcast and the light was fading, but what the heck.

Doing it put me in mind of a speaker I heard some years ago, talking about education and parents involvement in their children. He commented how difficult it is when we are all so busy. He also posed the question " we are all so busy doing....what?

So a pause for thought for me - keep things in perspective, a few minutes to take a blip is not a big deal.

So here we are. I will do this again some day, with different light and more attention to symmetry. Which reminds me - this bridge is straight! Brunel built all his bridges curved - for added stability. Try balancing a playing card on its long edge. If you put a curve in it, it's easy. Build your bridges bent!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.