Old College

So, there it is. Done. Every four or five years since 1998 I've had to largely write a tender for the same big job. That's it done and now it's just a matter of waiting until the tendering is done and seeing if I'll be doing it again for another 4 or 5 or 6 years. Sitting on the sofa last night I relaxed and just felt wrung out. And today I could hardly function at work now that my brain wasn't racing, piecing together bits of information and working out how to use them to some kind of competitive advantage.

It was odd to put my proper camera in my bag this morning and feel its weight on my shoulder after a week of iPhone blips grabbed and posted before I got to work. That's an interesting discipline itself but the weight of a proper camera felt good. Had a lovely walk this evening between finishing work and going to Spoon. The sun was out and streaming west to east down the High Street. Just before heading into Spoon, very early as it turned out, I had a wander into the Old College. I was happily taking some photos of the bikes in the sunlight and then the woman appeared and suddenly the bikes weren't so interesting any more.

If you go to the Oxford bar, on the wall by the window in there's a print of a photo that must've been taken around here. A figure walking into the College through this arch. Nice and they do a grand pint of Deuchars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.