Life blips n'blobs

By Vikvet

Ready to roll

This is not a patient of mine, it's a "resident" at the new Doggy Daycare centre in Stirling, Safe Paws.

I was approached last year before they opened to act as their registered veterinary practice, and met the owner and went to see the premises.
It's been a long time in development but they opened at the weekend, with some local football stars and plenty of doggies.

Today I was invited by the owner to come round and be interviewed for Scottish TV with her, and so I spent a couple of hours at the centre this morning before the lady camera operator arrived.

Disappointingly it didn't appear to make the appointed slot in the news. (That always happens to me!)

However I did get the chance to see the lovely dog psychologist at work, along with all the doggy helpers. It is truly an amazing thing seeing all these really happy dogs playing in a giant indoor doggy heaven, no barking, fighting, or anything else inappropriate!

They have doggy toys, doggy sofas, a large warm waterbed, a TV room, complete with doggy DVD's and CD's nap areas, (with strict nap times), and a puppy playroom. It also has "chillout" areas for dogs, and this chap was taking a short break in one of them when I snapped him.

The dogs are really happy, and I think this idea will take off. I wish more owners would realise how bored and lonely dogs get at home all day, and it's no wonder we see so many for behavioural problems.

I'm even feeling guilty about mine, even though hubby is at home with them all day), and thinking of sending them there.

Great stuff. Hope more people realise the benefits and use the great service Shirley and her team provide!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.