Smokin' 365

"Powerful, hard-nosed, authentic roadhouse blues. Punchy Texas shuffles, fierce boogies, tough slow blues and mighty fine roots rock."
~ Living Blues

When Texas blues powerhouse Smokin' Joe Kubek and Bnois King burned up the stage late Saturday night in a tiny cafe in the middle-of-nowhere, Belgium, T and I were right up front, getting our eardrums blown to smithereens and loving every minute of it -- the flame-thrower guitar sound, the beer-sodden floor, the fug of cigarette smoke, the whooping of a delirious audience.

If you look closer you'll see his smoking guitar.

I first discovered Smokin' Joe Kubek's music on a trip to New York 20 years ago. He and Bnois King had just released their first album, Steppin' Out Texas Style, and it was love at first listen. No fancy stereo system can compare with them playing live. This is what they sound like, only loud enough to raise the dead.

More Smokin' Joe concert pics on my Blipfolio, if anyone's interested.

This blip is my 365th blip, and in my arse-backwards way of doing things, it's also a backblip since we got home after 2 a.m. and yours truly was not fit for anything but a horizontal position with whimpering on the side. So, no long 365 speech prepared, except to say a deep thank you to all of you who've shared in the fun with me. I've enjoyed your company, your journals and your comments more than I can say.

And now I'm going to celebrate with a lie-down.


p.s. Check out my next blip if you want to see a nice Strat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.