Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

McKenzie

She brings a smile to my face every time I see her and that is not nearly often enough. As I was exiting church this morning, the children were coming into the auditorium/sanctuary to practice for next Sunday's musical. That's when I saw McKenzie.

Next week we celebrate Palm Sunday.

So I took photos from a distance (not the best of photos with my "point & shoot"). McKenzie didn't know her image was being captured. I think what caught my attention was her hat. McKenzie just does not blend in. She has that unique something, certainly something special, that just causes others to notice her.

She and I had a fun moment together back in December one evening when we were both at church. It is certainly one of my favorite unexpected blips.

So this morning I had the pleasure of seeing Mckenzie, which allowed for the creation of today's blip.

Someday McKenzie's grandmother, our friend Cyndi, will be the focus of my blip because she is a remarkable person. She raised four children single handedly. I've never heard an angel sing, but I suspect if I had, Cyndi's voice would resemble an angel's; she sings beautifully. She teaches high school students who are one step away from incarceration. In the evening, she teaches college classes. Her love of cooking, preparing a delicious meal, and entertaining far exceed that of most of the folks I know, including me.

Currently Cyndi is going above and beyond the role of friendship to help George, the music leader at the church we attend. George, who I wrote about here, is struggling with prostate cancer. Currently he is in the hospital. As I write this, my heart hurts and my eyes fill with tears. I just don't have what it takes to write tonight about Cyndi or about George.

If you have read this far, you are amazing.
Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.