Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Daughter Deidre

We call her "Deed" or Dede, but Deidre (deed-dra) is really her name and the one she has been using since becoming an adult. She is the younger of our two children. She was born just a little over three years after her brother.

We sent Deed & John some photos this morning of our pooches and also a couple of the mountains across town covered with a light layer of snow. Snow? Yes, that's right, snow. Our daughter and her family live just below those hills, but because I blipped that view yesterday, I didn't use it again today.

Our daughter responded to my email by explaining, "We are headed to dog obedience for our 1st class with the dogs this morning. Last week the class was without dogs. Ladybug and Buddy are both on the bed and tuckered out from a hike up skyline creek trail in the rain/hail yesterday late afternoon with John. John's been taking them up skyline 2 or 3 times a week. They aren't mellow like Sadie and Patch. They have to be worked or they are destructive and rowdy. They keep us on our toes for sure. We are working on leash training: sit and heel are the main objectives."

So our son-in-law, John, responded to our photos with the one above of Deed and one of their pups, Ladybug (from his Blackberry). John was handling the other pup, Buddy, and he wrote in his email, "They both enjoyed the class, took commands well and were eager to learn. I have been walking them quite a bit lately so this old dog will learn new tricks."

I rarely blip my kids, so this seemed like a good opportunity and I do realize that it is not a great photo, but it does capture the moment. I did crop the photo and decided I liked it better un-cropped.

The view has been beautiful today with enormous clouds of all shades of white, gray, and almost black. The air has been cold and the wind has been brisk.

Mr. Fun gave Mitzi a bath today and when he handed her all wrapped in a towel to me, I took her to the large bathroom counter-top to blow her dry. She loves being wrapped in a towel and tries to roll while inside of it. I laughed and laughed while trying earnestly to get her dry. It is obvious she thoroughly enjoys being clean.

I boiled macaroni noodles to add to the kibble, pinto beans and canned chicken breast mixture that I gave the pooches for their supper. They loved it and gave me an A+. This has a been an enjoyable day (and I still have an entire week of spring break out of the classroom -- woohoo!).

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun, and Chloe, Mitzi, and Max), aka Carol


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.