Work in Progress

Spent all day clearing out a downstairs cupboard. This was a large walk-in utility cupboard full of power tools, tins of paint, pumps, battery chargers, bits of a motorbike, gardening gloves, dusters, crockery, vacuum cleaners (some working), ironing-boards, decorating materials and other sundry stuff. I took it all out, cleaned the cupboard, and then went to google myself.
I have this little goal of googling "Camera Shy" and getting on to the first page of 640,000 hits. No such luck. I'm still on page 2. I then went to pick up Flick from the hospital and did a bit of shopping.
Then made Delia Smith's "Cheat" cottage pie for supper, and I have to say it tasted very nice indeed.
I didn't have a blip, so I thought I would attempt a lighting technique that I read about in an old pre-digital photography book. This pic is very much work in progress, but I'm pleased with the effect, especially since it's straight out of the camera. The technique is called painting with light. Basically you turn all the lights out so that the room is pitch black, set a long exposure, and wander around the frame with a torch, using it as a paint-brush. I will be trying this out on a properly composed and colourful still life.

The cupboard is empty, and its contents are still strewn over the hallway. Another work in progress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.