Inky hands

and a victory dance. That's this evening.

Got home from Parent's Evening at 7.40pm (Who put one the night before the end of term? Erm...... In my defence we had to reschedule it because it was supposed to be early in January, but with everything that happened, it just wasn't right). Was last one talking, still in consultation with parent at 7.10pm. Not like me to be fair, but lots of extra parents turned up so I ended up super busy. I enjoy parents evening, particularly when I get support from the other side of the desk and a reinforcement b****cking handed out to the unwitting victim. The best bit is being able to tell parents, with hand on heart, that their children are fabulous, hard working, well motivated, creative individuals who thoroughly deserve their success. That makes me smile. As do wonderful senior students who keep me topped up with cups of tea!

Anyway, got home as James was finishing his guitar lesson and then he sat down to do two writing tasks - the final part of his holiday homework. 40 minutes allocated. He's found a pen that he likes - a Parker rollerball. The problem with the hand? Not a leaky pen, just James holds the pen so close to the nib, and when he is pondering, he plays around with the pen, so therefore he ends up covered in ink. He actually had it all up his arms, across his forehead and on his cheek. Honestly!

However, big relief - the holiday homework mountain has been climbed, the flag has been placed in the top and he has descended to base camp safe in the knowledge that there is no more to do till he returns to school on Tuesday. He is very pleased with himself and having read his work through, so am I - he has really gone for it.

Yes, I HAVE told him how proud I am and what a fabulous, hard working, well motivated, intelligent and creative young man he is - he's as deserving of a bit of praise as my students are.

London tomorrow night - who made that decision? Erm....in my defence, it is our friend's birthday on Sunday so we are going to her gathering on Saturday. But really? MUFC, MCFC, LFC and Bolton are all down there playing matches this weekend, with the Marathon being run on Sunday. Worse still, James and I have to return on Sunday as James is back to school next week, but Corin is staying down there for the week.

Gutted.

Cheese and crackers, wine, bed.

Night
xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.