Leberal

This is a photo of an old message carved in stone in one of the old buildings in Stirling, Scotland.

The message is clear enough until you get to the phrase "The liberal man deviseth leberal things". I can't find a meaning for the word 'leberal' even after checking some old Scots dictionaries. I may simply be another way of saying 'liberal'. If any blippers can shed any more light on the word then happy to be illuminated.

It set me thinking a wee bit more (an admittedly unusual event for a Friday). It seems to me that in the UK there are few examples of folks who are wealthy enough to generate such altruisic projects (whether in the UK or overseas) but perhaps I'm not looking hard enough for examples. Maybe that spirit in the UK has long since departed?

Enjoy the weekend blippers.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.