Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Inside Out

Actually this is from the outside looking in -- but that's obvious. This is the interior of Mr. Fun's new toy. I could not get quite as good of an angle on my shed because the door of mine is so close to the house.

We've spent this day "rewriting" the interior by packing them full of the things we've been cramming into the garage, under the beds, and in the closets. Mine is filled with plastic tubs of decorations: Valentines, Easter, spring, Mother's Day, summer, autumn/Thanksgiving, and Christmas. His is filling with tools, bicycles, boxes with souvenir programs from every grand prix he has every attended, autographed by Ken Miles, Jimmy Clark, and Peter Revson and lots of others.

We purchased the sheds with the extra tall walls -- they are eight feet before the domed ceiling begins, so the loft seems REALLY high. That's where he thinks we ought to spend the night. I've agreed to the possibly of sleeping on the floor of the shed, but climbing up eight feet to the air mattress and sleeping bag and then figuring out how to get back down again in the middle of the night when I have to . . . well you know, go! Honestly, I don't think it's a good idea.

I've trotted up and down the stairs in the house no less than two dozen times today getting all my things out to my shed and my body is doing lots of whining, complaining, and moaning this evening. Climbing up to the loft is not going to happen tonight. It's scary just climbing the ladder to get eye level with the loft; the thought of going all the way up . . . well, I'll have to think about that. I guess I've always been a bottom bunk kind of person. Which reminds me . . .

A couple summers ago when we went to teach English at a school in S.Korea, all the beds were top bunks; below the bunk was the closet and drawers. Getting up to the bunk each night and back down in the middle of the night and again each morning was more than a chore.

Well, enough about sheds, bunks, and sore backs. The weekend has arrived in sunny California where the high temp today was 88 degrees. Thank you to everyone for the comments about the sheds. We are having so much fun with them.

Good night from southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun, and Chloe, Mitzi, and Max), aka Carol

P.S. The pooches like my shed best -- I put a rug on the sidewalk in front of it and a couple rugs inside. Mine is the "doll house." I'm calling his the "dog house." ;-)

P.P.S. Spring break is about to end. :-( I need to get back to teaching so I can rest! ;-) This week has been lots of work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.