ThisIs_WillCarroll

By willcarroll

Finished (almost)

I don't remember the last time I had a weekend without climbing, and yet with so much exercise in it as this one!

As today is Palm Sunday, I spent this morning at Church (I do most Sundays for that matter, but this one is more notable!). I was leading worship with Jackie Henderson, looking deeper into the symbolism of Jesus arrival in Jerusalem. Although we celebrated the memory Jesus' welcome into that city, we also looked at how Jesus arrived: On the back of a donkey, reliant on other people, knowing what he was walking into. It's a challenge to see Palm Sunday in that way sometimes.

Anyway, as it was such a fantastic day, we started to worship out on Nicolson Square Gardens. I read the description of Jesus;' entry into Jerusalem in Rob Lacey's "The Word on the Street" adaptation, and we processed inside. Jackie shared some personal reflections, and I did my best to tie everything together at the end: A preparation for the spiritual marathon of Holy-week.

I'd come into the city from East Calder on my bike (which was part of all the exercise). So left reasonable promptly. If I leave it too late my tummy rumbles for lunch, and the cycle home is very unpleasant.

After grabbing a quick bit back at the ranch, I got stuck into moving bags of soil and gravel. James had already made good progress with the garden plans: I felt like I needed to do my bit!

Anyway, we're finished for now. I am told that you can't get good turf at this time of year, so we've seeded to top-soil. And the gravel is down over the weed-proof(or so it says, we'll see!) matting. And, more importantly, the slack line is up! But alas, not quite ready for use. We were a bit frugal with the post-mix that holds the timber into the ground, and we get a bit of "soil flex". It'll need a couple of extra ground anchors to be stiff enough for regular use.

That'll be next weekend's job then... (incidentally, a half-finished job doesn't bother me - working in strategy, I'm happy once a way to address the problem has been established. For James, who works in electrical contracting, he's not happy until the job is complete - I wonder if he'll manage to wait until the weekend?! lol)

So, now it's just time for a wee bite to eat, and to chill out for the evening. Maybe with a glass or wine. Recover after 3 day's labour in the garden, two bikes turned into one (another of yesterday's jobs), a coiuple of 30-mile cycles, and a 4 hour climbing session: All since Thursday night. I'll sleep well tonight - this new-found pleasant late-spring weather is not good for me!

~~~

Here's a few more shots of our gardening progress...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.