Knoydart 1

I have been planning this trip for years and I convinced Rancid and not Rancid to come along.

A lovely breakfast, porridge with cream and honey followed by scrambled eggs and smoked salmon then of to the harbour to get the boat to Inverie.

A pleasant boat trip, then off to the bunkhouse to get our beds organised. We all had our own plans today. Rancid heading up Ladhar Bheinn, while I headed further North West to Beinn na Callich, we planned to meet on a summit later.

We walked together along the low level paths and then went our chosen route. The weather was glorious, I met noone on Beinn na Callich, the views all around were stunning(crap photos sadly), there was not much wildlife either.

Having reached the summit in plenty of time I headed straight south and waded the river, fell running shoes on and a wee jaount up a wee hill, this was probably a hill to many.

Boots back on and off to meet rancid and co, we had speculated a time we would both meet they were 15 mins early and as it was getting cold and windy they were descending when I met them. A quick chat and I headed up and up, I was tired and struggling. Reached the top and headed down, the mist engulfed me and I could not see a safe way all the way down so took to the easy ground. I realised why I was felling so bad, I had hardly eaten, so a sit down and some home baking and water and felt much better.

Quick descent as we had a table booked at the Forge for 7.45.

Met the rest who were getting a bit worried, shower and off to eat. Lovely food and a couple of pints, the first for a long time with 3 pints of water.

Back early to get some sleep, what a mix in the bunkhouse, some chatty and some downright rude.

This is Sgurr Coire Choinnichean from the boat the summit we should have met on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.