RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Wave

The last couple of days we have seen some large "rouge" waves come onto the beach at La Ropa. These waves have produced some exciting moments for the many, many people set up on the beach (bags inundated with water, shoes washed away, umbrellas knocked over, etc.). I was determined to get a photo that captured the drama of these waves, but it turned out to be more difficult than anticipated. The waves were unpredictable and the shutter lag on my underwater camera was difficult to time. After repeated pummelings in the surf I managed to get this towering wave right before it broke. I would have been happier if it hadn't broken my cardinal rule of straight horizons, but i was waterlogged from my efforts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.