must try harder

By halfcj

Lucky escape.

The stressful week occurred for sure not helped buy the fact that my debit card went missing today. No idea where it is, whether I left it somewhere, dropped it or someone lifted it from my pocket, which seems unlikely as they'd hardly lift my wallet, take out one card and carefully pop the rest back into my pocket!.

No I suspect I have dropped it or something. It'll doubtless turn up somewhere sometime, in the car or under my desk or sofa. But it'll be too late. Had to cancel it. Couldn't take the risk. Damn nuisance when I'd just managed to commit the 16 digit number to memory and had gotten around all the place on the internet where the previous card was linked and re-link this one! I'll have to do it all again!!

Worst thing is I discovered it was missing as I went to pay for some supermarket shopping! Oh dear. How embarrassing. Not enough on me to pay by cash, so had to get on the phone home for the cavalry!.....and whilst outside on the phone, I rested my weary legs by squatting on the bars that act as a bicycle 'park', I'm sure you know the ones I mean, when up behind me came a nice looking young girl, I'd say in her twenties, I could hear her huffing and puffing, and invading my air space, so I rose and started to walk away. I heard behind me, something along the lines, "...that's right, it's for bikes not for people!".

OK, I was stressed about my card trying to get through to the bank to cancel, and I guess I over-reacted, but turned and said with a touch of sarcasm, "I'm sorry, did I do something to upset you...was I in your way?", which of course I wasn't. There was plenty of other space, she obviously just chose to park behind me to make her point.

In quiet aggressive tones, she claimed to be talking on her mobile phone (nowhere in sight) and wanted to confront. I just turned, walked away and continued to listen to the holding music at the bank. Obviously not the right thing to do as she then went off into the supermarket and returned with 'security' as I'm mid sentence with the bank.

I suspect she was 'known' to security, for when I gave my side of events, he rolled his eyes, made sure I was 'OK' and not upset and went off to "...deal with her."

Shopping paid for, I returned home, went out into the garden and chilled out in the setting sunset with a nice cup of tea and only then I realised that actually, it had stressed me out quite a lot. B pointed out that her side of events probably portrayed me as a loonatic pervert hanging out around the bicycle racks harassing young girls. That sent me into a cold sweat. I guess it could have been a lot worse!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.